Eat my soup!

I love that region of the language and iconography of cooking and eating where the words and images we use to describe culinary things and the eating process are the same as those we use to express concerns of the libido. If there is anything about the language of cooking and eating that is more amusing, only the words and imagery that refer to our atavistic (I hope!) desire to eat other people come close to providing a similar level of (albeit morbid) entertainment.

Henceforward, if you see me shuffling in front of a shop window while quietly chuckling over a display of Day of the Dead candy, you will have one less reason to doubt my sanity, and perhaps another to wonder how lust for forbidden flesh and the desire to eat something sweet got so mixed up.

4 Responses

  1. You’re the cock o’ the wok, no doubt about it.

  2. I have never met a chef who didn’t has a much of an appetite for food as he or she had for sex! The two appetites seems very tied in together (or is that tied up???)

  3. Any idea where I can pick up some of that candy? Seriously!

  4. Life Design

    I think you have to go to Mexico or any town with a large Mexican population during “The Day of the Dead” season (Oct 31-Nov2) to get that candy. It’s seasonal candy so you better hustle.

Leave a comment